Latest Tweets!
Box Office

George Lucas to theatrically re-release all six Star Wars movies in 3D

George Lucas woke up today and realized that it's been almost five years since he graced us with a Star Wars movie. So, much like a day he woke up in 1996, the director has decided to theatrically re-release every Star Wars movie available, all six of them, in order, beginning with the prequels. Better yet, he's re-mastering them in 3D!

Unlike the Special Edition original trilogy re-release in 1997, audiences will have to wait a year between each film instead of a month. Lucas will oversee the 3D conversions himself. Beginning in early 2012, he will re-re-re-release every film in the series sequentially.

The schedule will look something like this:

  • 2012 - Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace
  • 2013 - Star Wars Episode II: Attack of the Clones
  • 2014 - Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith
  • 2015 - Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope
  • 2016 - Star Wars Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back
  • 2017 - Star Wars Episode VI: Return of the Jedi

If history proves an indicator of events to come, in 2017 Lucas will announce that he's writing and directing a third Star Wars trilogy, and will release Episode VII in 2019.

The news comes after Lucas confirmed Blu-ray versions of the trilogies would hit shelves in 2011. Specific details on the re-releases are due tomorrow. Expect any relevant updates to be appended to this post.

Are you happy to see the trilogies in theaters again? I'd love to see the Death Star battle in 3D and maybe the end of Return of the Jedi, but I'm not sure I care to wait eight years to do it. Jeesh.

[Via THR and Deadline]

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>